top of page
Search
  • Julie Schlagel

A Christmas 50K

By Julie Schlagel

This is my first ever race report of any kind I love reading reports but have never taken the time to write my own. Due to encouragement from Jill Homer, I'll put down some thoughts!


This winter was meant to be a return to foot racing after a 2-year hiatus into bike events. With much gusto, I began increasing my hiking time. By mid-November I realized I had a foot injury that was getting worse. I'd need to completely stop training if I was to recover in time for my mid-January 40 mile event. Well, within days of my injury my event was canceled and this WWW event was created. I instantly knew I had a new goal of biking this event if my foot allowed it. I went for a few rides without incident and now had something to motivate me and people to inspire me.



Doing this 50k on bike was definitely attainable for me. I was actually happy that I didn't have to pack a sleeping back and all the usual required gear. Basically, it would just be a long ride for me and I was fine with that. I decided to leave from my house and ride gravel roads in the area that make up part of an organized race called the Dirt Bag. I was familiar with this route so that was a plus. I set out around 3 pm on Christmas Day.




With temperatures in the mid-teens I feel like a dressed nearly perfect. Vasque Lost 40 boots, 2 pairs Smartwool socks, Smartwool base layer bottoms, Bontrager winter cycling pants, synthetic base layer top, Arcteryx Fortrez jacket, Mountain Hardware lightweight wind barrier jacket, Smartwool arm warmers, face shield, buff over my head, helmet, lightweight mittens, 45 North Cobrafist pogies. My only problems with dressing were my toes still being cold. I did have chemical warmers in case of this predicament but due to the short distance, I decided to keep peddling instead of stopping to get out the warmers. My hands got too warm with my gloves inside the pogies and made my gloves wet so I switched those out half way to lighter weight gloves. All in all I was satisfied with my choices.


The ride itself was uneventful but beautiful. I loved my choice of leaving in the late afternoon. I got a perfect mix of daylight with good scenery and peaceful nighttime riding. I stopped only to take some pictures along the way and to put a headlamp on at dusk. I got in some good hill work and my quads were burning as this was my longest ride on the Salsa Mukluk fat bike since last winter. I was fortunate not to have any mechanical issues. For some crazy reason I have always had a phobia of flat tires whether by car or bike!


Thanks for the opportunity to take part in the inaugural WWW event. I love this group.




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page